Roll back fuel price hike: Congress

12th June,2021

Roll back fuel price hike: Congress

Congress leaders held protests outside fuel pumps across the Nation to protest against the hike in prices of petrol and diesel and demanded a complete rollback of price hikes.

Parties general secretaries K.C. Venugopal and Shakti Singh Gohil reached a fuel pump next to the Arun Jaitley Stadium on a horse cart.

Arguing that the tax on petrol and diesel stood at 9.20 rupee during UPA, Mr Venugopal said it is now 32 rupee.

“The government should stop foisting excise duty on petrol and diesel. It should come under the scope of Goods and Services Tax. We demand a complete downfall of fuel price hike,” he said.

While Ajay Maken led a protest at petrol pumps in Rajinder Nagar and Janpath, Indian Youth Congress (IYC) President Srinivas B.V. accused the government of spending the tax collected on diesel and petrol on “profligate projects”.

“The reduction in fuel prices comes only during the elections. The BJP's loot starts again as soon as it gets time after the election campaign ends,”Mr Srinivas alleged.

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra tweeted, "During the pandemic, Modi government collected taxes on petrol-diesel: 2.74 lakh crore rupee."

“What all could have been done with this money: Vaccines for the whole nation (₹67,000 crore)+ Liquid Medical Oxygen plants in 718 districts+ AIIMS hospital in 29 states + ₹6,000 as help to 25 crore poor people. But nothing was done,” the Congress general secretary tweeted in Hindi.

Using the hashtag, former party chief Rahul Gandhi tweeted “GDP crashing, Unemployment soaring, Fuel prices skyrocketing. In how many more ways #BJPLootingIndia?”

Petrol prices have crossed the 100 Rupee per litre mark in Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, Ladakh and is the most expensive in. Sri Ganganagar district of Rajasthan with petrol selling at ₹ 106.94 a litre and diesel at ₹99.80.

Congess leaders across several States including Gujarat, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Assam protested while by following COVID-19 safety protocols.